Historic victory for NDA in 2014 Elections. Narendra Modi Tweets, "India has won! भारत की विजय। अच्छे दिन आने वाले हैं।" He seeks blessings from his Mother.

16th May 2014

Begins campaign for 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by addressing Bharat Vijay Rally in Udhampur.

26th March 2014

Named BJP’s Campaign Committee Chief for 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

9th June 2013

Addresses historic Hunkaar Rally in Patna. In the midst of live bombs, gives a message of peace and inclusive development. Record attendance despite the life threat.

27th October 2013

BJP declares Narendra Modi as the PM candidate of the Party for 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

13th September 2013

Foundation Stone for Statue of Unity laid by Shri LK Advani ji and Shri Narendra Modi. Statue of Unity will be the world’s largest statue and a tribute to the Iron Man of India, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.

31st October 2013

Leads BJP to yet another victory in the Gujarat Assembly Polls. Becomes CM for 4th time.

Embarks on Sadbhavana Mission. Travels across Gujarat and meets people, highlighting the spirit of peace, unity and brotherhood in Gujarat.

September 2011

Important Supreme Court verdict on 2002 riots. Tweets ‘God is Great’

September 2011

Gujarat completes 50 years, grand state-wide celebrations held.

May 2010

E-Gram, Vishwa Gram Yojana launched. Long term vision of the Gujarat government to take technology to every corner of Gujarat seen in this initiative.

January 2009

Garib Kalyan Melas start. A historic scheme that gives the poor the fruits of development without any middlemen. The government directly goes to the people.


Serial blasts in Ahmedabad. Prompt response and tough handling ensures large terror module broken in remarkably less time. Not a single instance of violence after bomb blasts.

26th July 2008

Vanbandhu Kalyan Yojana launched. This is a package devoted to welfare of tribal communities. From Rs. 15,000 crore in 2008 the package is worth Rs. 40,000 crore in 2013.

Tata Nano drives into Gujarat. Tata Group lauds Gujarat’s governance model and speed of decision making as reason behind the move to Gujarat.

October 2008

BJP wins 2007 Gujarat Assembly Elections. Narendra Modi sworn-in as CM for 3rd time.

December 2007

Becomes longest serving CM of Gujarat.

1st June 2007

Annual Krishi Mahotsavs kick off. These Mahotsavs have revolutionized agriculture across Gujarat, giving farmers cutting-edge technology, proper guidance and resources at their doorstep.


President Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam dedicates Jyotigram Yojana to the people of Gujarat. The Jyotigram Yojana is a path breaking initiative to provide 24/7, 3-phase power supply to people of Gujarat.

11th November 2006

Kanya Kelavani and Shala Praveshotsav initiated with the aim to increase school enrolment especially among girl students. Every summer, The CM, Ministers, Officials visit villages across Gujarat and ask parents to send their children to school.


First biennial Vibrant Gujarat Investors Summit inaugurated by Shri LK Advani.

28th September 2003

Leads BJP to record win in 2002 Gujarat Assembly Elections.

December 2002

Sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat.

7th October 2001

BJP secures consecutive victories in Lok Sabha elections under Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee. As General Secretary (Organisation), Narendra Modi actively involved in the campaign that led to BJP’s victories.


Becomes National General Secretary (Organisation), a prestigious Party post held by stalwarts like Shri Kushabhau Thakre and Shri Sunder Singh Bhandari in the past.

BJP secures majority in Gujarat Assembly Elections, winning 121 seats. As Organisation secretary, Narendra Modi plays a very important role.

March 1995

Moves to Delhi as National Secretary. Given charge of various North Indian states Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab.

October 1995

Ekta Yatra commences. Yatra led by Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi. Yatra aimed at national integration and giving a strong message to anti-India elements.

11th September 1991

Somnath-Ayodhya Yatra commences. Narendra Modi an integral part of the organisation of the Yatra that was undertaken by Advani ji.

25th September 1990

BJP wins 67 seats in Gujarat Vidhan Sabha Elections and joins Chimanbhai Patel’s government as an alliance partner.

March 1990

Lok Shakti Yatra organised.

Active role in organisation work for elections to various civic bodies. BJP wins AMC elections for 1st time.


Joins BJP as Organisation Secretary of Gujarat Unit.

February - March 1987

Nyay Yatra to fight for rights of the poor. Begins work for 1989 Lok Sabha Elections.


Becomes ‘Sambhag Pracharak’ and given additional region of South Gujarat and Surat as focus area.

The Bharatiya Janata Party is born.


Gets more responsibility in the Sangh. Becomes ‘Vibhag Pracharak’ and asked to work in Vadodara and Central Gujarat.


Emergency is imposed. Narendra Modi gets fully involved in anti-Emergency struggle. Becomes integral part of Gujarat Lok Sangharsh Samiti (GLSS), a movement to restore Democracy.


Active participant of Navnirman Movement, a youth movement against corruption in Gujarat.


Joins the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. Takes a conscious decision to devote his entire life towards service of the nation.


Leaves home and travels across India including the Himalayas, Rishikesh, Ramakrishna Mission, Northeast.


India-Pakistan War Breaks Out. Narendra Modi serves tea at Mehsana Railway Station to Jawans who are going and coming from the border.


Born to Hiraba and Damodardas Modi in Vadnagar in the state of Gujarat (Mehsana district)

17 September 1950